MediaFrenzy

May 1, 2007

The internet, everywhere

Filed under: Advertising,My Life,Technology — Allan @ 9:03 pm

We were driving up to Ceres this afternoon, when with about 10km to go, we drove past what looked like a shop just off the road. The first thing that struck me was the name – ubiqua. It looked Latin, but no Latin that I knew1. The next thing that struck me was that here, 2 hours outside of Cape Town, in what appears to be the middle of nowhere, was a great big URL stuck on the side of the building.

ubiqua

Now that I’m back home and in interwebland I have discovered that it’s not a shop, but a grass roots community project. And I think it’s really cool that not only have they got a website, but they’ve stuck it up big and bold on the side of their building.

www.ubiqua.co.za

That’s the great thing about the internet – anyone can go out there and market themselves.

1 not a difficult thing to achieve2
2 I thought it was ubique, just spelt wrong. That would have made the blog title quite pithy, since it means everywhere3
3 I’ve also learned from their website that ubiqua means the people of the bush

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

