MediaFrenzy

April 22, 2007

The face of things to come

Filed under: Cult of Mac,My Life,Technology — Allan @ 9:55 pm

In an effort to find a remote way of updating my facebook status – without having to actually log into facebook with a web browser – I spent some time poking about the developers section of facebook.com. Despite my failure to find anything useful in the API docs or any success at manipulating the FSQL syntax to my advantage, I was still pleasantly suprised – by a photo exporter plugin.

The facebook developers have an open source plugin that lets you export photos directly from iPhoto to facebook. Cool. Here’s a website that reportedly has 18 million registered users, and the photo exporting utility they release is for the Mac. It’s an interesting shift – I remember when I first started using a Mac, I spent ages looking for open source/free utilities to replace the tools I was used to using under Windows, and struggled to find them. Now I find myself struggling to go back. Besides constantly hitting F11 to go to the desktop, I find I cannot work so well without things like Quicksilver and iGTD.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

